Sheffield

I’ve been avoiding this topic for a long, long time. I just could never make sense of all the various Sheffield marks out there. And I’m not talking about Sheffield, England, I’m talking about U.S. companies using Sheffield marks.

The following article discusses various marks used by Derby Silver Co. The last paragraph mentions Derby trade marks used on ‘cheap’ hollow ware and flat ware, four of them with “Sheffield” in the name, ” Sheffield Plate Co.” being one of them.

There was also a Sheffield Plate Co. In Tainton, MA

Was this another “Sheffield Plate Co.” totally unrelated to Derby? I have no idea.

Then I came across this 1923 Jewelers’ Circular article:

There were fourteen traders, as they call them, in the U.S. using “Sheffield” in their marks.

The following article comes from a 1925 issue of Brass World and relates to the 1923 article above.

Davis and Deibel show flatware patterns for four different companies with “Sheffield” in their names.

Who these companies really are, I have no clue.

Now I know why I didn’t tackle this subject before. It gives me a headache.

This entry was posted in Derby Silver Co, Sheffield, Sheffield A1 Plate, Sheffield Plate Co and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment