WBW 900

A reader recently contacted me regarding assistance in identifying a piece of flatware she had which was marked “Made in U.S.A.” and “WBW 900″. 

I wasn’t familiar with the”WBW” mark and started doing some research.  I found some hints that “WBW” was connected with R. Wallace & Sons Manufacturing.  I then went to the Trademarkia website to see if a trademark has been registered, and sure enough, R. Wallace did obtain such a trademark back in 1895.  My notes, which follow, provide details:

Notes

Notes

Having answered that question regarding “WBW”, one other question remained.  What did the “900” mean?  Initially I thought that the “900” indicated purity of plating.  But upon learning that the item was magnetic, that answer no longer made sense to me.  It was steel which most likely had been tinned.  So what did that “900” mean?

I found my answer in the following 1897 advertisement in the Iron Age publication.  No. 900 was the model number / pattern name.

Ad from 1897 Iron Age Magazine, Vol. 59

Ad from 1897 Iron Age Magazine, Vol. 59

The following year, Wallace ran another WBW ad in Iron Age, this one was for the “Victoria” pattern.  Note the name of the pattern is placed in the same location under the spoon as it had been for “No. 900”.

Ad in 1898 Iron Age Magazine, Vol. 62

Ad in 1898 Iron Age Magazine, Vol. 62

The 1904 Dry Goods Reporter ad shows the “900” before each line item for this model. 

From 1904 Dry Good Reporter, Vol. 34. Page 34

From 1904 Dry Good Reporter, Vol. 34. Page 34

I’m thinking that the last “W” in “WBW” stood for “Wallingford”, where the company was located… Wallace Brothers, Wallingford.  The Wallace Brothers were the sons of R. Wallace.  They had formed their own company, “Wallace Brothers” in 1871 and merged with R. Wallace & Sons Manufacturing Co. in 1879.

 

This entry was posted in No. 900, R. Wallace & Sons Manufacturing Co., Victoria Pattern, W B W 900, Wallace, Wallace Brothers, Wallingford CT, WBW 900 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WBW 900

  1. KerryCan says:

    Okay, so I think I should write a murder mystery about a woman who is really good at researching antique flatware. Then someone finds a body, and the woman turns her analytical skills to finding clues about what happened and solves the murder because she sees little things that no one else does. What do you think?!

    • queenofsienna says:

      I think that is an excellent idea! Angela Lansbury is 88 and still working…hasn’t changed a bit. She can play the lead in the movie…and there will be a movie. Or maybe Sissy Spacek?

  2. Ruth says:

    I’m cleaning my vintage “stuff” filled kitchen and picked up a knife and fork with the WBW trademark. I kept them because I’ve never seen anything like them in all my years of collecting and digging through old things. Fork and knife are nearly worn through the outer coating which must have been tin, they’re very light in weight with very little thickness to them, but with the loveliest scrolled floral pattern. I never thought to test them with a magnet, and sure enough, they’re apparently tinned steel. Thank you for being the Super Sleuth – good luck with the book and the movie!!!

  3. Juan Jose Soriano says:

    Hello friends, I have a piece with these characteristics, I want to ask them of favor if they know where they can sell it online, I already live in Central America, thank you very much for your help

    • queenofsienna says:

      Hello. I’m not familiar with selling in Central America. However I believe there is a website called Mercado Libre which might be helpful. Also I think there might be Craigslist. You could also consider a consignment shop. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

