Hey Diddle Diddle

I was recently contacted by someone who had been researching the mark on the back of a piece of flatware.  The mark was “Conn. S.P. Co.”.  She came across my blog post on Ladies Home Journal silver plated ware offered as premiums.  One of the patterns offered by the Ladies Home Journal was the “Rossmore” pattern.

1891 Ladies Home Journal Ad

1891 Ladies Home Journal Ad

Although the manufacturer of this silver plate was not identified in the ad, it just so happened that I owned several pieces of this same exact pattern with the back stamp “Conn. S. P. Co.”.  I had researched extensively, yet I could find nothing about this company.  I have also seen this mark as “Conn. Silver P. Co.”  It was one of those mysteries; all you could do was conjecture and keep searching.

So when I was contacted by this individual who was researching “Conn. S. P.”, I asked if the pattern on her flatware were the same as on those that I had, that being the “Rossmore” pattern in the ad.  And she said that hers was different.  It was basically a floral pattern with “THE COW JUMPED” with a cow, moon and dog incorporated within the design beneath those words.

I remembered that when I was researching “Conn. S. P. Co.” I came across a picture of a spoon with this back stamp.  And this spoon had “HEY DIDDLE DIDDLE” on it along with a cat and fiddle.  Luckily I had saved a copy of this image.  The following shows that spoon along side the fork.  They certainly were a match!  The quality of the images are not great but I think you can make them out.

Hey Diddle Diddle Spoon with The Cow Jumped Fork

“Hey Diddle Diddle” Spoon with “The Cow Jumped” Fork

It is believed that this English nursery rhyme dates back to the late 16th Century.  One of the common versions follows:

Hey diddle diddle,
The Cat and the fiddle,
The Cow jumped over the moon.
The little Dog laughed,
To see such sport,
And the Dish ran away with the Spoon.

By William Wallace Denslow Circa 1765

By William Wallace Denslow Circa 1765

There has been a profusion of unsupported explanations of this rhyme over the years (centuries) but most scholarly commentators believe that the verse is probably meant to be simply nonsense.

Rendition

Rendition by Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886)

So, we have pieces of what appears to be a child or youth set…a spoon with “Hey Diddle Diddle” and a fork with “The Cow Jumped”.  I’m guessing that there must be a knife out there with “The Dish Ran Away” or something similar featuring dish and spoon images.

Does anyone reading this have any knowledge they would be willing to share on Conn. S. P. Co. and / or this “Hey Diddle Diddle” set?  I’d love to learn more!

Conn. S. P. "Rossmore" Pattern Flatware

Conn. S. P. “Rossmore” Pattern Flatware

I have several pieces of this Conn Silver P. Co. flatware offered for sale at my Etsy shop (a photo of one listing is above).  This pattern is rare and would be a great one to add to your collection. 

http://www.etsy.com/listing/119008181/circa-1880-aesthetic-pattern-fork-and

http://www.etsy.com/listing/120192757/circa-1880-aesthetic-pattern-fork-conn-s

This entry was posted in cat and fiddle, Conn. S. P. Co., Conn. Silver P. Co., cow jumped over moon, dish ran away with spoon, hey diddle diddle, Ladies Home Journal, little dog laughed, nursery rhyme, Rossmore pattern, silver plate, silverplate and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hey Diddle Diddle

  1. Suzanne Slorah says:

    Hi,
    I found your site while searching for the very children’s set you’re discussing. We inherited the fork & knife from a beloved aunt (Auntie Em). They had been her childhood eating utensils. Over the years the spoon of the set was lost. I’m trying to replace it, but other than replacements.com, I don’t know where to look, or whether I can afford it.
    Emma (Stone) was born in Northampton, MA in 1906, but had relatives in Connecticut. I’m assuming this was a gift. It traveled with her when her family came west in 1910.
    The knife says, “the dish ran away”; below that is a picture of the dish and the spoon running away together.
    Suzanne

    • queenofsienna says:

      Thank you so much for confirming that what I had assumed was correct…the knife does says “the dish ran away”. What a neat set this is! Does your knife have the “Conn. S. P.” mark or any other kind of mark?

      It doesn’t appear that there are many pieces of this pattern out there. Maybe someone will see this post and your comment and be able to help you find that spoon!

  2. Erma Covault says:

    Hi!
    I was delighted to find your site after searching for the “Hey Diddle Diddle” youth set for many days! Your photos are just like my set! Below the figures there is a small crown and another flower similar to the one at the top. The knife is 7 1/2″ long and the fork is 6 1/4″. Replacements .com still has no information about it now in March 2017.

    I am also looking for the spoon. The set belonged to my Mother and even has her name, Edna, engraved in script in the blank space below the flower at the top. She was born in 1906 too, so I would guess that she got it a few years later. I do not know what happened to her spoon, but presume that she had it at one time. She was born in Minonk, IL, so that indicates that it was marketed in that area too. It also has the “Conn. S.P Co.” mark on the back. The silver plating is almost gone, so it now has a slightly golden patina. But the middle of the knife blade is dark and shows that it was formerly silver. Would love to find the spoon to complete my set! and would appreciate hearing from anyone who has one and is willing to sell it!

    Erma Covault
    ecovault@hotmail.com

    • queenofsienna says:

      Erma, how I would love to facilitate your finding the spoon! Hopefully a reader who has one will read this blog and contact you. I will keep my eyes open as well.

Leave a Reply

