Etsy Listing Photo Backgrounds

A quick look at the treasuries that have been featured on Etsy’s home page will show that the majority of those treasuries have white or light backgrounds on the listing photos.  I guess the thought is that they’re seeking a clean, light and cheery look.  Here’s a treasury I recently created using mostly white and light neutral backgrounds:

Etsy Treasury

Etsy Treasury

However, for my own Etsy listings, I prefer dark backgrounds.  They are dramatic and, at times, mysterious.  Many times I focus in on detail for the lead photo, detail that might draw the buyer in and prompt them to look at the other photos and read the listing.  Other times I try to be creative with the subject matter.  For example, take cookie cutters.  How creative can you be with cookie cutters, you ask.  Well, the photo below will show.  Oh, this is not the norm, but it is a challenge to take the best photo you can and I try to have fun with it.

Cookie Cutters

Cookie Cutters

 These cookie cutters are available here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/94017857/tin-cookie-cutters-lot-of-4 

On occasion, I might be fortunate to have an advertisement for the item I have for sale.  For example,

Moore & Leding Sterling Silver Washington City Souvenir Spoon 1890

Moore & Leding Sterling Silver Washington City Souvenir Spoon 1890

Available here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/122838817/moore-leding-sterling-silver-washington  Note: I have a separate post on this blog on souvenir spoons entitled “Year of the Souvenir”.

Premier Salad Dressing Bottles

Premier Salad Dressing Bottles

Available here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/96763916/two-premier-salad-dressings-bottles

 To enhance and complement the classic design of this Frederick Wilson Afghan Silver serving spoon, I used as a background a page illustrating similar classic designs:

Frederick Wilson Afghan Silver Serving Spoon

Frederick Wilson Afghan Silver Serving Spoon

Available here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/107268399/frederick-wilson-afghan-silver-serving

I did a considerable amount of research on the following Gorham “Biltmore” pattern “Bowman Hotels” silverplate fork.  I have a separate post on this blog entitled “I’m In Love With Jack”… Jack Bowman, that is.  I located a wonderful photo of Jack Bowman and used it as my background for this Bowman Hotels fork:

Gorham "Biltmore" Pattern "Bowman Hotels 1931" Silver Plate Fork

Gorham “Biltmore” Pattern “Bowman Hotels 1931” Silver Plate Fork

This Bowman Hotels fork can be found at my Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/105022328/gorham-biltmore-pattern-silver-plate

And, as I said in the beginning of this post, I like to have fun and sometimes there are things that I just can’t resist….like putting a huge UFO in the background behind this American Airlines silverplate fork:

American Airlines "Flagship" Silver Plate Fork by International Silver

American Airlines “Flagship” Silver Plate Fork by International Silver

Available here:  https://www.etsy.com/listing/168546463/american-airlines-flagship-silver-plate 

Take the best, clearest photos you can.  Be creative.  Have fun!

This entry was posted in Afghan Silver, American Airlines Flagship Silverplate, Biltmore, Etsy, Etsy treasury, etsy vintage, Frederick Wilson, gorham, Jack Bowman, john bowman, Moore & Leding, Premier Salad Dressing, queenofsienna, Robert Leding, silver plate, souvenir spoon, sterling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

