Where Are These?

This sterling “Oudja” pattern was manufactured in 1895 by Frank M. Whiting & Co. of N. Attleboro, MA.  I’ve only seen this pattern on one site, and then only as a reference and not for sale.  The “Eye of Horus” or the “All Seeing Eye” and the letters which spell “GOOD…” make me think this is linked to Ouija, as in the game.  I suspect the “GOOD…” is “GOODBYE”.  The first Ouija board was invented in 1890. I cannot find this pattern for sale anywhere.  Does anyone out there have a piece of this pattern that they’d be willing to sell, or know where I can purchase it? Update: April 4, 2013 Well, almost two years have passed and I still have not been successful in locating a piece of this Oudja pattern sterling flatware.  I have created another blog, http://queenofsiennaskitchenjournal.wordpress.com/ , and have used this Oudja design in the banner.  I have learned that this Oudja was very popular in the late 1800’s…it was an Egyptian good luck amulet.  So most likely that “GOOD…” on the handle was “GOOD LUCK” and not “GOOD BYE” as I had thought earlier.  I’ve written a post about the Oudja on my other blog, but share some info here as well: The following has been taken from “The American Stationer, Volume 19″ dated May 20, 1896: “The latest novelty in ladies note-paper is a reproduction of the curious talisman that has been known in Egypt for the past eighteen centuries and worn as a charm by ladies and gentlemen.  The name of this prosperity bringing talisman is “Oudja” signifying luck and happiness and it shows the eyes of Horus from which a tear-drop flows, intended to represent the River Nile. The pecular property of the “Oudja” is to bring good luck; but the Pharaohs looked upon it as an emblem not only capable of warding off adversity, but also of having large influence over the yielding of the earth, containing as it does, the main principals and fertility, viz.. fire represented by the sun, Horus, and water, by the tear flowing as the Nile.  A little amulet is being adopted by many members of the aristocracy in Paris and London, and is presented by friends one to the other with graceful wishes used on such occasions to such an extent that no person with a particle of superstition will exist without his or her Oudja. “In London these amulets are creating furore, from the simple fact of their hailing from Egypt and the curious history to the first one worn in England, owned by the fair young wife of a handsome guardsman who sent it from Cairo with these words: ‘This is a charm which protected the cultivators of ancient Egypt against inclement weather; may it act likewise in your favor, and insure brilliant days for your parties.’  Alas, the bright days did not last, for from the Soudan the young captain was reported as having fallen a victim to country and duty. But his widow refused to believe, excepting in her “Oudja”, and wept and prayed to bring her loved one back again, despite the official news of his death.  But the extraordinary escape and return of the officer became the topic of the hour in London; the Egyptian talisman, with gratitude, being considered the real agent that produced the miracle.  A charming legend thus attached to the “Oudja” and in a short time every lady and gentleman will wear the eye of Horus to bring good luck, prosperity and happiness to themselves and those around them. “This talisman has been utilized by Ph. Hake in his newest design for note paper.” If you search “Oudja” on the internet, you will find references to a location in Morocco but not much else.  If the 1896 article above is correct, then there should be many of these antique amulets available.  But where are they?  I can’t find them!  Supposedly Frank M. Whiting manufactured silverplate flatware in the 1895 “Oudja” pattern but I can’t locate a piece of that either.  Was “Oudja” perhaps spelled differently?  It is remarkably similar to Ouija and the first “Quija” board was invented in 1890 so the timing fits.  If anyone reading this has any information on “Oudja”, whether it be the amulet or the flatware, please let me know. Update 2/19/2015:  A reader left a comment (below) mentioning that he had a piece of Oudja, possibly a button hook, and he was kind enough to share the following photo:

James Moore

Photo Provided by Reader

 UPDATE 12/9/16:  For those of you anxiously awaiting an update, your wait is over.  I have found my own Oudja spoon.  It is a demitasse (or coffee) spoon.

My Oudja

My Oudja

The bowl is gilt.

Gilt Bowl

Gilt Bowl

Frank M. Whiting’s mark as well as “sterling” is stamped on the back.

Whiting Mark

Whiting Mark

I have even located a Frank M. Whiting  Oudja Spoon ad in the 1892 Jewelers Circular.

Jewelers Circular March 16, 1892

Jewelers Circular March 16, 1892

My search is over.

This entry was posted in all seeing eye, Egyptian amulet, eye of horus, flatware, frank whiting, good luck charm, oudja, ouija, silver, sterling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Are These?

  1. James A. Moore III says:

    Hello! I have one piece of Whiting Oudja. I’m not interested in parting with it, but I thought I’d share a photo of it in case you’re interested. I too have tried (with little success) to learn more about it and/or acquire more.
    I think it was a button hook, but the end of the hook part was broken off before I found it. It has the eye of Horus on it mounted on a double spiral twist and is marked Sterling with the Whiting hallmark.

    I’m not sure I can copy a photo on this reply; if it doesn’t come through feel free to email me with your email address and I’ll send it.

    James A. Moore III
    jaybirdsf@me.com

    /Users/jamesmoore/Desktop/IMG_3602_2.jpg

  2. Melissa says:

    Woohoo! Congrats on finding your very own Oujda demitasse! Quite a story! I am dying to know how you came to purchase yours!

    • queenofsienna says:

      Persistence paid off. I kept looking and searching and finally I found it one day online at an antique shop in Baltimore. Never give up! Glad you enjoyed my story!

Leave a Reply

